New Brooklyn shop may bear investigation   Leave a comment

During the Peter Murphy concert/excursion/day last Sunday,

I was tipped off by the gracious Lauren, one of the owners

of the Twenty Sided Store, the RPG/strategy gaming

folks to a new bookshop opening or just recently opened up

in Bushwick, Brooklyn, Human Relations Books, located

at 1067 Flushing Avenue, Brooklyn, N.Y., open 12-7 daily,

which is a few blocks south of Meserole and Grand St. where I was

seeing the show last week, and on Flushing Ave. which is

more or less also a “main” thoroughfare similar to

Grand St. or Metropolitan Avenue.  Sounds quite promising

from their web site although the site itself is bare bones

for now, can’t search their stock yet.  The web link is

HumanRelationsBooks.com   Apparently this is a joint

venture with some of the folks from Williamsburg’s

quite excellent BookThugNation shop, which

I’d visited a couple of times the past

two years.  I don’t know if HumanRelations just

opened recently or in 2011 or what, but I have a feeling

it might be a place to go check out and I’m hoping

to do so over the next couple of months, as much

as Brooklyn can sometimes exasperate me!

For some reason I feel like Bushwick has more

character almost and less ‘tude than Williamsburg

or Greenpoint proper, and it’s obviously a neighborhood

on the verge of total rehabilitation and renovation,

at the very least.  I hope Human Relations turns out

to be a jewel in the crown, but there’s only one way

to find out, which is go over there and scope it the heck out.

I hope to do so by the end of September if not sooner.

That might also might be in or around the David J

(yes, the man from Bauhaus and Love and Rockets etc.!)

concert I just heard is happening on Tuesday September 25th

at The Delancey near the Williamsburg Bridge entrance

in Manhattan (at the corner of Rivington St.), a venue I’ve heard great

things about but haven’t had a chance to go investigate

as yet.  It looks VERY intimate indeed with

the music downstairs, main bar street level and a gorgeous

roof deck with view up top.  I hear tickets for David J are only $10 so no

excuses for that one, I’m definitely planning on

attending, plus David doesn’t exactly tour very

often, so catch him while you can and I saw him

live solo “in cabaret” as it were back around

1999 or so in NYC at another W. Village venue

and it was a fantastic show.  So that’s something

else to get frothing at the mouth about for

September.  I’m not usually a huge weekday night

concert fan, but hell, for David J I’ll try to make an

exception.  I tend to try to combine these

book/music NYC excursions since otherwise

it’s a royal pain in the arse to keep schlepping

it into NYC every single cultural “mission” I plan

to carry out and driving in from the cultural

wasteland that is Long Island as I currently

have no choice but to do.   Anyway David J’s

web site has links to buy tickets and

to the Delancey and various other venues

on his current tour.

http://www.reverbnation.com/davidjofficial

Cheers to all you book lovers and music fanatics and fellow

wackos out there,

Scott

Posted September 2, 2012 by deathofthebookstoreandweirdfictionetc in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

